Learn How to Cook Something

The first step on my cooking journey was to look for some advice when it comes to cooking. In my family, I have always been known as the worst cook, while my sister, at a young age, could help my mom with our family dinners. I turned to the internet and found this article that gave some beginner advice for cooking.

Press Here to see the article 

This article was helpful in showing me some aspects of cooking to pay attention to, especially the idea of fresh ingredients. Therefore, before I cooked, I headed to the store. 

pic creds 

The meal I decided on for this blog was a vodka pasta dish with a salad. I have always been a pasta fan, so I thought it would be cool to try a new type of pasta that differs from my usual tomato sauce. So, over the past weekend, I attempted to make vodka pasta following a recipe. Inspired by Gigi Hadid’s pasta recipes I had seen on TikTok, I followed this recipe.

Press  Here

The first step was to go down the street to buy heavy cream and other ingredients such as garlic and onion. As I made my way to Whole Foods, I did feel sort of overwhelmed at first by the surplus of food and ingredients around me. However, I was ready to begin cooking when I found what I needed. 

After that, I began to cook the pasta using the ingredients listed on that website. I first fried the oil, cautiously ensuring it did not burn. Then I put in the onions and garlic while the pasta water began to boil. I thought it was important to time the sauce and pasta right. As I cooked, I listened to Christmas music to help make the process go faster and did my best to pay attention to how much time everything was cooking. When I was about halfway through, I realized there was a problem with the sauce. Although I had followed the recipe, it looked a little too thick and little. I cut some tomatoes (the recipe had tomato paste) and added them to the sauce. I also added more heavy cream, which I think was a good decision. After that step, the pasta was pretty much boiled, and I added the sauce on top. 

Overall Take: 

I went into the cooking with high hopes, and the pasta came out somewhat well. The sauce still felt a little too thick, but the taste was decent, and I could still enjoy it. Looking back, I think I added too much onion and not enough tomato paste and garlic. Adding the tomatoes did help but gave it a regular tomato sauce taste. It was still pretty good, though, and I think I learned what I need to fix for the next time I make it. My family also enjoyed the leftovers, so I can count them as successful. I’m excited to continue to learn new recipes to cook. 

2 thoughts on “Learn How to Cook Something

  1. I’ve been finding more and more recipes through social media these days–and almost all of them have turned out pretty good. I love that you realized what modifications you need to make next time around. That’s the sign of a true cook! I look forward to learning with you next time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started