My Unexpected Opportunity!

For this next blog, instead of focusing on one dog in my community, I would like to focus on an incredible experience I had recently with an animal rescue organization. This past February break, I got the opportunity to volunteer for Sgt Pepper’s Friends Rescue in Aruba. 

I went away with my family for a little bit to visit one of our favorite beautiful destinations. I spent much time by the beach and just unwinding after stressful months of hard work. My family always travels with our family friends, and the last time we went to Aruba (which was a couple of years ago) they reached out to this organization due to our concerns about the number of stray dogs on the island. We were pleasantly surprised to hear how much this organization does for these pups as well as cats. The organization aims to help rescue and relocate these animals to loving families in America, the Netherlands, and other places. 

A few days after we arrived in Aruba, our friends informed us that they had reached out to the organization before we left and were going to be volunteering for them for a day while we were there. My excitement definitely got a hold of me, and I invited myself to join them because I knew I could not miss this opportunity. 

Read their heartwarming story here

The first chore during our volunteering was to take out the “bigger dogs” and walk and feed them for a bit. These dogs originally were found on the streets of Aruba extremely skinny, but have gained much weight since!

The dog I walked was named Luna

Look how cute they are!!

Next, we went in with the puppies to feed them and help clean their designated area. These dogs were so cute and all looked very different. My heart absolutely melted watching how excited they were to spend time with us. 

Overall I was very impressed with the Sgt Pepper’s Friends Organization. I could see how loved these animals were by each person there. They seem to have a lot of success with adaptations because of their great use of social media platforms and also how essential it is to them to have these animals find happy homes. However, they get new strays staying with them all the time. So if you are considering an addition to your family, please consider reaching out to this organization to find out more about adoptions and if they would be able to send one of these beautiful animals your way!

Press this link to learn more about their adaptations 

Even if you can not take one of these animals to your home please consider donating to help their great cause. With this money, you can help them continue to rescue dogs and cats every day!

donate here!

PS: Our family friends ended up falling in love with one of the puppies and they are joining their family this week. We are overjoyed for them and so excited to meet their new dog

More pictures of the animals we saw when visiting their facility:

Explore their socials here! 

Website: https://www.sgtpeppersfriends.com/

Instagram:sgtpeppersfriends

Hashtag: #sgtpeppersfriends

Blogs: https://www.sgtpeppersfriends.com/blog/

Facebook: sgtpeppersfriends

10 thoughts on “My Unexpected Opportunity!

  1. I love everything about this blog to begin with, but this post in particular is so adorable! I love that your family worked in a trip to the shelter into your (fabulous!) vacation. AND that not only did it lead to an adoption but that we readers got to come along for the ride. What an amazing journey for you, your family, your friends, and Little Cody!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stop like they all are so cute!! i love the photo of you holding one and just staring at the camera haha. showing photos of adorable animals is a great way to get people to be persuaded to buy one! great job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started