My Roman

Hi, welcome back! This next blog will be focusing on my dog, Roman! Roman is a Covid dog. We got him back in the spring of 2021 to bring my family together with joy during a time of much confusion and anxiety. I can say that to this day Roman still brings this to our family. Roman is a King Charles Cavalier mixed with western terrier. These types of dogs can be known as a little spoiled, but always wanting to sit on their family’s lap. 

My friends like to say that he looks like he is an old man because of the little gray hairs on his beard. However, He just turned 2 years old this past March, but I still feel like I got him yesterday! 

Roman has many favorite activities. Unlike most dogs, he does not enjoy long walks. I’ve tried to take him on numerous walks. I got the leash, the dog bags, and opened the door. He likes to give me false hope by looking excited and wagging his tail, however before I know it we are down the street and he sits his butt down refusing to move. So I guess we could call him a bit lazy. However he does love cuddles when he is the one initiating it. Like a human, Roman gets grumpy sometimes and wants his space, especially at night. Sometimes around 8 o’clock if I try to sit next to him, he will move like a moody teenager trying to escape his parents. 

The Breeds: 

Cavalier King Charles Spaniels :

  1. Size of little toys and are one of the friendliest breeds
  2. They tend to have warm, dark, brown colored eyes
  3. They are great therapy dogs
  4. Lap Dogs, but also sporting dogs
  5. They have a combination of athleticism and trainability 
  6. They are a “royal breed” and both King Charles (the first and second) were attached to their spaniels 
  7. The dogs tend to be four colors

-ruby (Roman)

-Tricolor

-Blenheim

-Black and tan

Read here to learn more: source (credit for facts above and picture)

Western Terrier Breed Facts:

  1. 10 to 11 inches tall at the shoulder 
  2. Weight: 13 to 22 pounds
  3. Lifespan-16-22 years 
  4. They are affectionate and intelligent
  5. Originally developed for hunting and rating

Read here to learn more sources. (credit for facts above and picture)

Snacks!

We give Roman many different snacks that he loves. 

First we give him Natural Nubz Edible Dog Chews:

source

These are from  Nylabone which has many different brands that you can buy for your dogs. 

We also give Roman Jerky treats. Dehydrated meats are a very dense source of protein for dogs and jerky may contain over 85% of high-quality protein. Also when dogs chew on dehydrated meat this process supports the removal of plaque and tartar build-up—dental hygiene. 

source .

My family would not be the same without Roman and we are so grateful that two years ago he was able to join our family and bring us this much joy! 

If you want to read more about breeds visit https://www.akc.org/ where I found most of my information! 

4 thoughts on “My Roman

  1. Roman is so cute!!
    It was my first time seeing someone referring to their dogs as a “covid dog”, wich was really funny! If that’s the case, then my dog and cat are also my “covid pets”!!
    I also really like the transition from where you were talking about your dog and then talking about different type of breeds of dogs!
    Loved it!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started